1988 British Grand Prix

Ok, I was 7 when Silverstone hosted the British Grand Prix in 1988. But it was the first race I attended, with my parents. My Dad had got me into Formula 1 earlier in the year so was looking forward to it.

Obviously I can’t remember much about it as it was 25 years ago but there are a few memories I do recall, including staying in a hotel in Woodstock a few miles away.

I also remember having a predominanyl green Benetton cap on the whole weekend, but what I remember most is the rain. My god did it rain that Sunday race day. We were standing somewhere around the track (I think between Copse and Maggotts) and all we could see was the odd car flashing by, and a whole lot of spray behind it. Ayrton Senna won that day from Nigel Mansell.

Despite not seeing much, and being soaked through,  I was further hooked onto F1. I would return to Silverstone in 1989 & 1990 but haven’t been back since.
Paul

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

