2013 Auto GP World Series Season Preview


2013 Auto GP World Series Season Preview

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs won the 2012 Auto GP championship and promptly moved onto GP2, so its obvious that this championship is worth something.  In fact there is a €200,000 purse up for grabs every race weekend, one of the richest pots in motor racing.  The series has 15 full-time entrants for 2013, with a 16th entrant (Daniel de Jong) running a part-time schedule alongside his full-time campaign in GP2.

So lets take a look at the teams & drivers for the 2013 Auto GP World Series Season.

Super Nova International have an all Italian line-up with Antonio Spavone & Vittorio Ghirelli, Ghirelli has raced in GP3, Formula Renault 3.5 & Formula 2 in the last few years, whilst Spavone has GP3 experience also, and ran in Auto GP in 2012.

Virtuosi UK have another Italian in Andrea Roda driving for them alongside Russian Max Snegirev.  Roda joins from Formula 3, whilst Snegirev returns for a second season in the series having also spent time in Formula 2.

Zele Racing have potentially one of the strongest line-ups on the grid, with reigning Formula 2 Champion Luciano Bacheta joined by F1 & HRT refugee Narain Karthikeyan.  Bacheta has to be one of the favourites for the championship, whilst Karthikeyan will want to prove to the world & himself that it was the car that was holding him back in his F1 career.

Ghinzani Racing have moved from the cancelled Italian F3 series to Auto GP this year, and haved signed highly rated Romanian Robert Visoiu for its only car so far.  Visoiu spent 2013 running a joint campaign in GP3 & Italian F3, where he was racing with ex-F1 racer Piercarlo Ghinzani’s outfit.

Euronova Racing have an all-Japanese line-up for 2013 with Kimiya Sato being joined by Yoshitaka Kuroda.  Sato raced in German F3 in 2012, having previously competed in the Formula 3 Euro Series.  Kuroda joins from Italian F3 having raced previous in Formula Abarth.

Another new team in the series is the Ibiza Racing Team.  Another couple of Italian drivers have been signed here, with Sergio Campana & Giuseppe Cipriani taking the drives.  Campana is in his second season in Auto GP having moved from Italian F3, whilst Cipriani, the oldest driver on the grid at 47, is in his third season.

MLR71 are an Italian team owned by & raced in by Michele la Rosa.  He is joined at the team by Giacomo Ricci, who’s raced for this team in the series last year, having moved on from GP2.

The final team is Manor MP Motorsport.  They have two full time entrants in Italian Riccardo Agostini & Dutchman Meindert van Buuren, whilst another Dutchman Daniel de Jong will race when his GP2 commitments allow.  Agostini is highly rated and is another driver who has come from Italian F3.  Van Buuren adds Auto GP to his Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup duties, a series he raced in last year.  De Jong’s main series this year is GP2, where he raced in collaboration with Auto GP last year too.

2013 Auto GP World Series Season Schedule

Round 1+2: Monza – 23/24 March; Round 3+4: Marrakech – 06/07 April; Round 5+6: Hungaroring – 04/05 May; Round 7+8: Silverstone – 01/02 June; Round 9+10: Zandvoort – 06/07 July; Round 11+12: Nurburgring – 17/18 August; Round 13+14: Donington Park – 31 August/01 September; Round 15+16: Masayrk Circuit – 05/06 October.


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: