What I Want To Do

So I arrive at the NEC in Birmingham for the Autosport Show with not a clue what to do with my media pass.  But now I know what I want to do, and that is be a journalist within motorsport.  However what I have learnt today is it will not be easy to get where I want to be.  Age isn’t exactly on my side at 33, and its a high pressure environment that not everyone who wants to be in it will get in it.

Today I have had the pleasure of talking to up-and-coming racer Dan Wells, who showed me that if you don’t give up, the world has a way of opening up for you.  11 months off the track, yet he persevered on trying to make a career in motorsport, and the perseverance paid off as he returned in a Formula Masters car at the end of 2013 and showed his obvious, and very natural talent for the KCMG team, culminating with a P2 finish around the streets of Macau, a legendary race track renowned around the world.  He’s 11 years my junior yet I learnt a lot in the short amount of time I had the pleasure of talking to him for.

I write primarily for www.SportPulse.net at present, with the odd blog post on my own personal blog page here.  But neither get me to where I want to be, they are just a stepping stone to bigger and better things.  I want to attend races, interview drivers, do race reports.  Whether its on the national or international scene, whether its single-seaters, GT or Touring Cars, I want to follow them in a close capacity and be in the paddock every race weekend, doing reports and interviews.

I do have priorities, though F1 is not one of them, though I obviously would not turn down a chance to work in the best motorsport around.  I am a big Blancpain Endurance/Sprint series fan and would love to work there.  But I’m also a fan of the BRDC Formula 4 championship, and would love to work there too.  And then there is GP2, GP3, Formula Renault… the list is almost endless.  Right now, I would work reporting on any series, its my dream.

Just got to keep on it, follow the dream, work my butt off.  I can do this, I just got to persevere.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

