Sims to debut in British GT with BMW & Ecurie Ecosse

British driver Alexander Sims will debut in the British GT championship with Ecurie Ecosse.  The Factory BMW driver will run alongside Marco Attard for six of the seven rounds that make up the season in a Barwell Motorsport BMW Z4 GT3.

Alexander%20Sims

The 2008 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner is confident that he can mount a serious challenge for race wins in his rookie season, and is happy to be back racing in a British championship.

“It’s fantastic to be back racing in a British championship and really exciting to be coming back to British circuits,” said Sims.

“Last year the level was pretty damn high at the front. I haven’t tested but I would hope I would be up to speed very quickly.

“I’m not saying it’s going to be a breeze, but we should consider ourselves contenders.”

The only trouble is that due to a calendar clash, Sims will miss the race weekend at Snetterton, and that could dash his hopes of mounting a serious title challenge.  But he cannot wait for the new challenge that has been presented to him.

“I’m over the moon, as getting a full-time drive in a championship as prestigious as British GT is just fantastic” added Sims.

“It’s a great opportunity to embed myself within BMW’s network of teams, and to work alongside a gentleman driver as talented as Marco. Ecurie Ecosse and Barwell enjoy a very impressive track record together, with last year especially strong thanks to Marco and Olly [Bryant]. I simply cannot wait for us to begin working together.”

F3-GT_Brands_Hatch_100813_by_Az_Edwards_041

His team-mate Attard is optimistic that he and Sims will be fighting at the front of the field in 2014.  Attard won once with Oliver Bryant during 2013, and is hopeful of more success this year.

“It’s great to be back with Ecurie Ecosse and the guys at Barwell,” said Attard.

“I can hit the ground running now that I’m continuing with the same car and team, and have a full season already under my belt. This, combined with having a driver of Alexander’s calibre alongside me, means I have put myself in the best possible position to challenge for the title again.

“I’ve got good faith in Alexander.  It’s a matter of him pushing me more and more.

“We had a couple of issues last year without which we would have been alright. Hopefully with the combination of Alex and myself we should be up there.”

Barwell Motorsport Team Principal Mark Lemmer is thrilled about his 2014 British GT driver line-up.

“I’m absolutely thrilled to have such a fantastic driver line-up across both championships, and it’s great to be able to welcome Alexander to our fold; he is undoubtedly one of the most exciting young British talents in the world of GT racing,” said Lemmer.

“I fully expect Ecurie Ecosse and Barwell to be pushing for both titles!”

The British GT Championship begins in April at Oulton Park.

Sources: Autosport, http://www.ecurieecosse.com/, http://www.britishgt.com/

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

